World of Pain

I wake up to
A brand new day
My heart open and
Exposed to
What lies in
Wait
I step outside and
All I see
Is a hurricane of hurt
Lashing down on me
Not just mine but
The pain of those
I love
Tears like hail and
Heart wrenching screams
That somehow are
Never loud
Enough
I want to reach out and
Run away
Step in and somehow
Save the day
But I can’t show anyone
The right way
When I’m broken and worn
Myself
Pain screeching and
Wailing on
Every side of me
It’s to be found in
Every person
I see
I stand in the middle of
A bustling street
With cars of hurt
Assailing me
Empty voices and
Empty dreams
Empty people
Without hope for
A better
Reality
There’s nothing I can do
Nothing I can do
But go back to
Sleep and
Wonder
When does it get better?
When does it get better?

-Megan M. Phillips

Leave a Reply

