Listen

What did I hear?
I heard the whispers of a
Galaxy of brilliant stars
Each one beautiful and
Irreplaceable but
Always comparing
Itself to its neighbor
Overtaken by the sickly green parasite of
Jealousy and
Contempt
I heard their murmurs as they
Comforted themselves with
Twisted thoughts
The idea that it would be the
Brightest to burn out into
Nothingness
First
What did I hear?
I heard the very
Strands and sands and keepers of
Time itself
Screaming and wailing
Desperately
Pounding pounding pounding
Against
Their invisible
Inescapable
Confines
Cages of hourglasses and clocks
They are helpless
Sobbing against the walls of
Their prisons
For all of eternity
Begging to be
Noticed and treasured
In a world which no longer
Has any time to value
Time
What did I hear?
I heard the unique and
Spiraling voices of the birds
Which sing
Their own victorious melodies
An endless song of
Conceit
For they are above
All else
Save for the night that draws near in which
They will fall and their
Chirps will be cut short
None will help them mend their
Wings
Leaving them to die on the
Painfully
Pitifully
Foul and
Lonesome
Ground
What did I hear?
I heard the symphony of a
Thousand seas
Sand and salt and tears
A bitter evening breeze
Mindlessly washing over
All before them
The beautiful shells and life and
Castles that were made
Barely clinging to the
Crumbling shore
Anything that falls is claimed by
Inky blue hands that
Grasp and grab at the slightest
Weakness
What did I hear?
I heard the moans and weeping
Of the ancient trees and flowers
Which rot away slowly from within
Each time they are
Abandoned or
Stepped upon
Leaves and petals stained black and brown by their own
Tears of sorrow
Memories crumbling into a
Fine and useless
Pollen
Intelligent
Rare and
Unfulfilled
Minds
Slipping away to the worst kind of
Insanity
Which is caused by
Isolation
What did I hear?
I heard an abundance of stories that
Are never seen for
Humanity rarely pauses to
Read
I heard a world of life and magic and beauty
Falling away into an evil
Twisted and broken
Reality

-Megan M. Phillips

Leave a Reply

