Broken Boy

He sits beside of me
Slowly
Like his bones are
Aching
Slightly snapped and
Twisting in peculiar ways
Which is strange for
I know
It is his soul which is truly
Fractured
I hear his heart pounding
Very
Very
Slowly
Thud thud thudding
Against irreparable ribs of
Cracking
Cold
Grey
Concrete
Forcing weary life through
His fragile being
He drops his head low
Like it hurts to raise it
Which I imagine it does
With thoughts so
Heavy and
Harrowing
They are knives
Whirling about his
Most frail and tired
Conscious
Constantly puncturing that
Which is already
Ridden with
Black
Gaping
Holes
He only falls through them
Faster
When he tries to
Fight
He exhales softly
In that exhausted manner
He has so much pent up inside that
When he breathes out
It helps him breathe in
Once more
He sits down
Next to
Me
What can I do?
Do I tell him what I
See?
Or do I
Shove him aside
Let him be
Laugh in secret like
The rest of
Humanity?
Should I
Reach out a hand
When I do not fully understand
This monstrous burden within him?
If I try to fix what cannot be
Mended
Will I end up broken
Too?
But I guess this is what I meant
When I said
I would lay down my life
For
You

-Megan M. Phillips

Leave a Reply

