Silence

Are you ever
Truly
Listening?
To my voice and
Its consistent ringing
In your ever
Closed
Ears?
I no longer have
Any Faith
In your ability to be
Swayed
For how can you ever
Change
If you never
Listen?
Do you truly believe it is
Fair
To constantly trample
My voice?
Do you even
Care
As I wail
Brokenly and
Pitifully
In the rare silence
You do not fill with your own
Monstrous noise?
Or will you
Continue to
Crush my will
Continue to
Take take take
Your fill
Until there’s nothing
Left?
Yank me about
By my hair
Shred my heart
Tear by
Tear
Scattering the pieces
Everywhere
Hiding them in
Deep dark places where they
Cannot be
Found?
Will you even notice
That I have ceased to
Call?
Just like I never had a
Voice
Even before
You stole it
All
Will you simply sit and watch
Talking over my
Screams
As I tumble and twist and
Fall
Deeper into the
Inescapable pit of
Silence?

-Megan M. Phillips

13 thoughts on “Silence

  1. ” no longer have
    Any Faith
    In your ability to be
    Swayed
    For how can you ever
    Change
    If you never
    Listen? ” liked this the most πŸ˜€ .. . n r these poems real ? cuz their reaching out to someone .. or asking for help in a deserted land

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

