Regret

I wish I would’ve
Held your hand
Taken more time to
Care and
Understand
To have counted the stars
By your side
Every night
Breathing in their
Reviving light
As they filled our hearts and souls with
Meaning
I wish I would’ve
Realized that
I loved your
Eyes more
Than those stars
I wish I could’ve known just
How much I
Treasured every
Moment that I spent
With
You
I wish I would’ve
Kissed your cheek
Always listened for
You to
Speak
I wish I would’ve been
There for you
When you were
Afraid that
No one
Cared
I wish I would’ve
Kept by your side
Held you tight
Stopped your fall
I wish I’d been there
Before you lost it all
To help you
Glue the fragile
Remains back
Together
I wish I would’ve gave
Even more than
I did
After all
I suppose I knew what I was
In for
The moment I
Felt the pain of your story
The hurt scrawled in your pages
As I read every single word and
Cried because
All of that hurt was
Painstakingly
Genuine and
Something I could not
Save you from
No matter how much I
Cared
I wish I would’ve
Ignored that I myself was
Worn
Because losing you
Has not made me any less
Tired
If anything I am now
Torn and
More restless than
Before
I wish I would’ve
Laughed a bit more
To not have always
Rushed out the door
Always running and running and
Running
From you and
Our problems
I wish we would’ve
Listened more
And remembered what it
Meant to
Love
I wish we would’ve been
Older in our
Mentality
Overcome our
Immaturity
But what could I have
Expected?
We are merely
Children
Who I wish would’ve
Grown up sooner than
Possible
Or perhaps met
Later in our
Years
Simply because I wish
I could’ve been more than a
Memory to
You
I wish I would’ve
Worried less about what was done
And instead questioned
Where your anger
Fear and
Mistrust
Came from
I wish I would’ve realized
Sooner
All these things I
Could’ve done
Before we ended up here
Wounded
Distant and
Stranded
In this broken
Bitter
Place
Locked in this
Twisted cage that
My heart
Cannot
Escape from

-Megan M. Phillips

Hello! I’d like to apologize for my inactivity lately. I’ve been a little worn out and this week I have been away from home. I’m trying to get back to my usual self, so hopefully this will be the last poem like this for awhile. Thank you for your patience. I sincerely appreciate all of you. Have a great day. 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Regret

Leave a Reply

