Abandoned Playground

It is an
Abandoned playground
Faded brown mulch
Slowly wearing away like
The memories founded
Here
Sandboxes whose
Contents have been swept away and
Muddied by
The relentless storm of
Time
Revealing scuffed
Splintered
Forgotten
Shovels and buckets
Twisting slides of
Various colors
Sun worn and cracked
Laced with puddles and ants and
Weeds
They can no longer be
Ridden
Painlessly
For the years have
Warped them into
Useless objects
Empty swings
In a single row
Thoughts spiraling off of them
And away
Into the sky
Like a brave child who
Released the chains binding him
To the
Stiff
Unforgiving seat
In midair
Soaring up and away
Free for a small moment that
Feels like forever
Until gravity
Drags him back
Down to the ground where
He has learned to
Belong
Plastic houses for
Playing pretend
Spiderwebs adorn their corners
The paint on their roofs
Chipped and
Peeling
Empty toy kitchens and tables
As the children who once roamed about them
Have grown
Feet settling down into the
Concrete floor of
Reality
Learning how to build
Walls for their own
Guarded
Houses
Struggling to figure out how to
Keep strangers from
Tearing them down
So they can
Prevent them from discovering the
Broken person that hides
Behind their
Padlocked doors
Ancient trees
Dead and weeping
Brown
Crinkly tears
Over the playground
Drowning the place and the
Memories it
Represents
It’s an abandoned playground
Left behind as
The world became colder for
Those who once laughed and
Loved
There
As those children grew into
Distant adults
Who now have
Realized that a
Playground is
Nothing but
A graveyard for
The happier
More
Innocent
People they once
Were

-Megan M. Phillips

21 thoughts on “Abandoned Playground

      1. I remember that bit well.. I prefer the childhood of exploring, discovering and trying things. I remember doing that a lot like climbing trees and stuff. Did you do that?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Not usually…though I do observe them and find myself knowing more about everyone else than they know about me. I’ve always hated how I’m more of observant than I am interactive because it prevents me from knowing everything I would like to. But I’m shy πŸ˜‚βœŒπŸ»οΈ

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Sounds like you suffer a similar thing to me. I find making contact hard and would rather watch. It’s fascinating what people give up about themselves isn’t it?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Believe me, so am I and that’s the frustrating thing is that even at 41 I dont know who I really am. Always a pleasure to have a deep conversation anytime you like! πŸ˜ƒ

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

