Restless

Late late late
But I am
Still awake
Because my mind can’t
Escape these
Relentless thoughts
Of mine
They storm and spiral and
Scream
Bouncing
Rolling
Soaring
Through the chambers of my
Mind
Stomping through my peace
Stealing all the
Stillness they can
Find
They never stop
Ticking
Much like the
Iron hand of
Time
On and on and on
They forever
Climb
Forcing even the most
Simple words they
Stumble upon to
Rhyme
So that I might
Live by a unique and
Powerful
Melody made up
Solely from
Me
Notes bitter and
Sweet
Soft and
Screeching
Ripped from my very own
Memories
Jagged like
Broken guitar strings
And it is late
But I am not
Sleeping
For my words are
Seeping onto my
Pillow and
Down into the empty pages
I always keep
On hand
They’ll keep me awake
For quite a
While
At least until I’ve
Managed to
End their frenzied
Dance
By
Finally exploring every
High and low of this
Mysterious
Endless
Land

-Megan M. Phillips

9 thoughts on “Restless

Leave a Reply

