Little Bird

Little bird
Don’t fly too far
I’d hate to clip your wings
You’ve grown too much
Your mind is full of Useless things
Little bird
Don’t fly too far
I want you here to stay
This silver cage for you
I gave my life to pay
Little bird
Your wings are mine
As is the small flutter of your heart
The desire to wander inside of you
Let’s tear it down into dark
Little bird
Don’t fly too far
I’d hate to break those wings
Your song should only be heard by me
Those notes shall soar to
No one else
Little bird
Don’t you stray
To this nest you must always return
For nothing out there waits for you
But pain, hurt, and dismay
Little bird
Don’t fly too far
Rather
Just don’t fly at all

-Megan M. Phillips

15 thoughts on “Little Bird

      1. Don’t get me wrong, there are times I don’t feel like it. But you know you have to dare, challenge yourself and you’ll learn in no time to soar up high.
        What do you think?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

