Thunder Door

img_9769I no longer worry about the
Door slamming shut
Behind me.
Its deafening sound is
Not startling, nor its
Vibrations
Unsettling.
I no longer worry about the
Door slamming shut
Behind me.
Wood against wood isn’t
Too loud, it’s just
A cheap imitation of
Thunder.
Why do we fear that which is closed?
After all, it’s safer this way,
Locks upon locks upon
Life.
I no longer worry about the
Door slamming shut
Behind me.
I have become unaffected by
What that rush of wood
At my back
Means.
I hardly care if it opens
Again,
Really, because
It’s safer this way.
It’s better this way.
Right?

-m.m.p.

4 thoughts on “Thunder Door

Leave a Reply

